Nutrition Worldwide

So it’s been a long while since I have posted to the blog. I graduated from my internship in June and have been enjoying my summer while also studying my butt off for my RD exam which is scheduled for September 25–yikes! But the purpose of this post is not to update you on my life. Instead, I am using this platform to spread the word about a non-profit I have been helping out recently.

The non-profit, Buenos Principios, A.C., provides education, nutrition, and medical services to children who are born into poverty in Rosarito, Mexico. My Aunt and Uncle started working with the non-profit for some time now. They created a GoFundMe page to raise money for the construction of a new school. At the time the GoFundMe was started, I was in the middle of my internship and broke. But I knew I had to do something to help. I reached out to my Uncle and offered to help in anyway I can with the nutrition portion of the non-profit. I figured I might as well put my knowledge and education to good use! I have been in touch with the couple heading up the whole project. They will usually email me at the beginning of each month with the foods that have been donated to the school for the month and ask for ideas of different ways to use the foods. Sometimes it seems like I am not really doing much and I wish there was more I could do, but they are incredibly grateful for my input. For now, the most important thing is that these children are getting food…calories…energy!

The school is still being constructed. There is still more money to be raised. Please visit the link below to read more about Buenos Principios, A.C., get updates, and make a donation! Thank you!

We’re Building a School in Mexico!

Leave a comment